adidas Golden Ball nominees announced

adidas Golden Ball nominees announced
The FIFA General Secretary Jérôme Valcke and adidas Group CEO Herbert Hainer today officially announced the 10 nominees for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ adidas Golden Ball. The adidas Golden Ball is the official FIFA trophy for the “Best Player of the Tournament”. The ten nominated players were selected by the FIFA Technical Study Group and includes football experts such as Kalusha Bwalya, Christian Karembeu, Jomo Sono and Gérard Houllier.

Nominees for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ adidas Golden Ball trophy are: Diego Forlan (URU, shirt #10), Asamoah Gyan (GHA, 3), Andres Iniesta (ESP, 6), Lionel Messi (ARG, 10), Mesut Oezil (GER, 8), Arjen Robben (NED, 11), Bastian Schweinsteiger (GER, 7), Wesley Sneijder (NED, 10), David Villa (ESP, 7), Xavi (ESP, 8)

Accredited media representatives will vote to determine the winners of the adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze ball awards on The winners will be announced after the final on 11 July.

adidas Golden Ball past winners:
1982 FIFA World Cup™ Spain: Paolo Rossi (Italy)
1986 FIFA World Cup™ Mexico: Diego Maradona (Argentina)
1990 FIFA World Cup™ Italy: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)
1994 FIFA World Cup™ USA: Romario (Brazil)
1998 FIFA World Cup™ France: Ronaldo (Brazil
2002 FIFA World Cup™ Korea / Japan: Oliver Kahn (Germany)
2006 FIFA World Cup™ Germany: Zinedine Zidane (France)

FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG)
The FIFA Technical Study Group is headed up by Jean-Paul Brigger . Further prominent members of the TSG are Christian Karembeu, Humberto Grondona, Gérard Houllier, Holger Osieck, Leodegar Tenga, Gabriel Calderon, Alvin Corneal, Kwok Ka-Ming, Kalusha Bwalya, Ephraim Matsilele ‘Jomo’ Sono and Jim Selby.

Man of the Match

What is the Man of the Match award?

For the first time in the history of the FIFA World Cup™, the Man of the Match award for each match will be chosen by you, the fans!

This means you decide the best player and who gets to receive the Budweiser Man of the Match trophy when the game ends.

Where can I vote for the Man of the Match?

We are making it easy for you to vote.

If you are following the FIFA World Cup on the Emirates MatchCast feature here on, you will be able to vote in the MatchCast on every single match!

Or you can simply bookmark, to ensure you can place your votes with only a few clicks of the mouse.

How does the vote work?

All you have to you is choose the player you feel deserves to win the Man of the Match award.

Voting opens during each match of the 2010 FIFA World Cup as soon as the second half begins. You can vote, and even change your vote, until the match ends.

When does it start?

You can start voting during the Opening Match of the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The match kicks off on 11 June, 4.00pm CET. Voting will open at the beginning of the second half of each match.

Be sure to visit on 11 June, and every matchday, to place your vote!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: